14 Years; 7 Months

I have an old dog
He doesn’t know who I am
He doesn’t know where he is
He stops in the middle of the room and stares
for minutes at a time until I tap him;
Then he moves again.

I have an old dog
His senility causes him to repeat patterns
Endlessly
His senility causes him to repeat patterns
Endlessly
His senility causes him to repeat patterns
Endlessly.

I have an old dog
He smacks his gums like toothless old men
He walks like a drunk on a three-day bender
on weak back legs
He presses his nose on my leg to be sure I’m still there.

I have an old dog
He can’t hear me speak
I didn’t raise him from a pup
Alone for the most part I took him in
Marking time ’till he crosses the bridge.

About afabulous

Let's see where the words take us - shall we?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

